Wednesday, 27 April 2011

82 of 87 seats contested in Singapore GE

SINGAPORE: The ruling PAP in Singapore was not returned to government on Nomination Day on Wednesday.

It is facing contest in all the 12 single-member constituencies (SMCs) and 14 of the 15 Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs).

There will be a three-cornered fight in Punggol East single-member constituency (SMC), straight fights in all other constituencies except Tanjong Pagar Group Representation Constituency (GRC).

The three-way fight at Punggol East SMC is between PAP's candidate Mr Michael Palmer, the Workers' Party's Lee Li Lian and the Singapore Democratic Alliance's Secretary General Desmond Lim.

In Aljunied GRC, the Workers' Party is fielding party leaders Low Thia Khiang and Sylvia Lim, and members Chen Show Mao, Muhamad Faisal and Pritam Singh. Their opponents are PAP's George Yeo, Lim Hwee Hua, Zainul Abidin Rasheed, Cynthia Phua and Ong Ye Kung.

GRC contest - Ang Mo Kio (PAP vs RP), Aljunied (PAP vs WP), Bishan-Toa Payoh (PAP vs SPP), Chua Chu Kang (PAP vs NSP), East Coast (PAP vs WP), Holland-Bukit Timah (PAP vs SDP), Jurong (PAP vs NSP), Marine Parade (PAP vs NSP), Moulmein-Kallang (PAP vs WP), Nee Soon (PAP vs WP), Pasir Ris-Punggol (PAP vs SDA), Sembawang (PAP vs SDP), Tampines (PAP vs NSP), West Coast (PAP vs RP).

SMCs contest - Bukit Panjang (PAP vs SDP), Hong Kah North (PAP vs SPP), Hougang (PAP vs WP), Joo Chiat (PAP vs WP), Mountbatten (PAP vs NSP), Pioneer (PAP vs NSP), Potong Pasir (PAP vs SPP), Punggol East (PAP vs SDA vs WP), Radin Mas (PAP vs NSP), Sengkang West (PAP vs WP), Whampoa (PAP vs NSP), Yuhua (PAP vs SDP).

Candidates fielded by party: PAP (87), NSP (24), WP (23), RP (11), SDP (11), SDA (7), SPP (7).

Polling Day is on May 7.

- CNA/ir


The election is exciting. Will we see black swan or grey swan occuring?


Post a Comment